Thr10 intermittent sound fix?

Covers entire Yamaha THR range of guitar amps, heads and cabs.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Buzzard, Saul

User avatar Singapore
tanhongray
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 1:23 pm

Thr10 intermittent sound fix?

Unread post by tanhongray » Mon Nov 04, 2019 1:29 pm

Hi guys first time posting here. Recently got myself a Thr10 for cheap as it had something wrong with. Wondering if I could get some advice here as it's my first time doing DIY repairs

The seller said that the amplifier sometimes produces no sound. He also said that turning it on and off would help sometimes

He told he he brought the amp over to a yamaha service center and the tech told him that it was a rather simple fix but the cost of labour would cost more than a replacement. Am getting the amplifier in a few days and will post pictures and update

Anyone can point me in the right direction? Could it be just a broken switch? Thanks alot!!
Advertisement
1000 Free EDM Samples
User avatar Denmark
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2659
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Thr10 intermittent sound fix?

Unread post by Buzzard » Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:06 pm

Hi tanhongray, welcome to the forum and the string section. :D

Once you get your THR home, find out what works, and what doesn't, then we'll take it from there.
We will do our best to help you, but a first hand description from you + some pictures will get us right on track.

Best Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
User avatar Singapore
tanhongray
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 1:23 pm

Re: Thr10 intermittent sound fix?

Unread post by tanhongray » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:42 am

Hi. I got the amp and everything seems to work fine. The previous owner said the power supply was broken so I lent one from my friend to test the amp out. The amp worked perfectly fine. I know that the adapters for the th10 are very hard find/expensive so I decided to DIY. I got a 15v 3a laptop adapter and soldered the tip of the old plug to it. The amp powers on and works.

However there is a noticable hum that wasn't there before. Its relatively high pitch so I dont think it's 60 cycle hum from the guitar. Besides, the him wasn't there before. I did more research and the hum may be from a ground loop? The Voulme of the him goes up when I turn the amp up and when the volume of the guitar is down/unplugged there is no hum. When i play music through the amplifier via usb there is also no hum.

I've attached a picture of the connection Image

What could be the cause of the hum. Could it be improper shielding? Thanks for the help
Attachments
1573789320669809099788177175362.jpg
User avatar Denmark
Buzzard
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2659
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Thr10 intermittent sound fix?

Unread post by Buzzard » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:30 am

tanhongray wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:42 am
Hi. I got the amp and everything seems to work fine. The previous owner said the power supply was broken so I lent one from my friend to test the amp out. The amp worked perfectly fine. I know that the adapters for the th10 are very hard find/expensive so I decided to DIY. I got a 15v 3a laptop adapter and soldered the tip of the old plug to it. The amp powers on and works.

However there is a noticable hum that wasn't there before. Its relatively high pitch so I dont think it's 60 cycle hum from the guitar. Besides, the him wasn't there before. I did more research and the hum may be from a ground loop? The Voulme of the him goes up when I turn the amp up and when the volume of the guitar is down/unplugged there is no hum. When i play music through the amplifier via usb there is also no hum.

I've attached a picture of the connection Image

What could be the cause of the hum. Could it be improper shielding? Thanks for the help
I think you should get a power supply made for a THR amp rather than using one from a laptop.
When you get hum from a power supply, it isn't compatible.
A THR power supply will cost 20-25usd, but you can probably find them cheper if you look around.

:idea: http://genuineacadapter.com/yamaha-15v- ... 11919.html :idea:

Regards
Peter
Yamaholic, Guitars, Amps and Bikes. :idea: My Guitars: http://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/vi ... =24&t=7004 :idea:
Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha THR Forum”