Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Covers the Yamaha MODX6, MODX7 and MODX8

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
RUSSCAMPBELL11
Member
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 5:26 am
Location.: United Kingdom

Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by RUSSCAMPBELL11 »

I have purchased the MODX6 and connected my headphones with the relevant jack connector.
I am struggling to basically get sound/volume to play the synth.
Has anyone got a step-by-step easy guide to generate the sound/volume on this synth?
I am reading thru the manual from the start to determine how to get sound/volume and looking at the troubleshooting
section also.
Just wondering if there was a quicker way to get sound/volume?

Platinum Producer Bundle 2019
User avatar
dfinucci
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:00 am

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by dfinucci »

Hello.
Do you mean you don't get any sound out of headphones output?
D

User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4403
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by parametric »

MAKE SURE - you have plugged the Headphones into the correct socket.

If you are using a 3.5mm to 1/4" adaptor on your Phones - make sure it is fully plugged in.

The Volume is controlled by the knob marked <Master Volume>

That should be it . . . . ;)

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
RUSSCAMPBELL11
Member
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 5:26 am
Location.: United Kingdom

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by RUSSCAMPBELL11 »

dfinucci wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 10:13 am
Hello.
Do you mean you don't get any sound out of headphones output?
D
Well yeah, although master volume was turned off.

User avatar
RUSSCAMPBELL11
Member
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 5:26 am
Location.: United Kingdom

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by RUSSCAMPBELL11 »

parametric wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 6:39 pm
MAKE SURE - you have plugged the Headphones into the correct socket.

If you are using a 3.5mm to 1/4" adaptor on your Phones - make sure it is fully plugged in.

The Volume is controlled by the knob marked <Master Volume>

That should be it . . . . ;)

parametric
In the correct socket. Will check if fully in although I have master volume turned off.

User avatar
dfinucci
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:00 am

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by dfinucci »

Hello.
I suppose you want to say "master volume is turned ON", right ?
By the way i also presume that you have tested your headphone with other devices ...
What about right/left line output ? Do you get some sound from there ?
Sincerely
D

User avatar
RUSSCAMPBELL11
Member
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 5:26 am
Location.: United Kingdom

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by RUSSCAMPBELL11 »

dfinucci wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 5:45 am
Hello.
I suppose you want to say "master volume is turned ON", right ?
By the way i also presume that you have tested your headphone with other devices ...
What about right/left line output ? Do you get some sound from there ?
Sincerely
D
Meant Master Volume Turned On.
I am going to check my headphones on other devices first, thanks for that.
Will check output from Left and Right also.

User avatar
RUSSCAMPBELL11
Member
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 5:26 am
Location.: United Kingdom

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by RUSSCAMPBELL11 »

Tried both wall sockets in the attic and tested my two sets of headphones and all working now.

User avatar
dfinucci
Member
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:00 am

Re: Sound/Volume MODX6 Set Up

Unread post by dfinucci »

Great. Thank you ! :dance:

Post Reply