SY85 Firmware

The Yamaha SY85 is a digital music workstation introduced in 1992. Unlike other Yamaha synthesizers of the time (SY77 and the SY99) the SY85 does not use FM synthesis. Instead, its sounds are based on samples, which can be layered and modified to create new sounds.

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
docrv71
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:53 pm
Location.: France - Paris

SY85 Firmware

Unread post by docrv71 »

Hello,

First, I'd like to thank you for all valuable information we can find here. It's really helpful.

I'm looking to upgrade my SY85 firmware (main 1.10, sub 1.10s).
The links in this great site are dead. Would someone be kind enough to put the latest possible* one, please ?

* : By 'latest possible' I mean,as far as I understand, I'll be limited to 1.20 firmware only by burning a new TMS27C040-10. I saw there are one 1.34/1.36 version that would require to upgrade other ICs, which are impossible to find now. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks a lot !

Regards,

Hervé
Last edited by docrv71 on Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Yamaha SY85 - Roland D-50 - TX 81Z - Roland TR626

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Location.: Germany

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by Miks »

Hi Hervé,

welcome to the forum (Y)

Please DO check your PM's (= Private Messages)... 8)
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

User avatar
docrv71
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:53 pm
Location.: France - Paris

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by docrv71 »

Thanks a lot Miks for the TX81Z firmware. :D

Anyone for the SY85 1.20, pleazzzzzz ?

Thanks.
Yamaha SY85 - Roland D-50 - TX 81Z - Roland TR626

User avatar
Miks
Specialist Moderator
Specialist Moderator
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:00 am
Location.: Germany

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by Miks »

docrv71 wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:29 pm
Anyone for the SY85 1.20, pleazzzzzz ?
As far as I know it's not only a firmware update via Eprom - it's also the CPU that has to be replaced due containing a different code in an internal ROM area than the v.1.10 CPU. If I'm wrong someone may please correct me...
My (key related) gear (in alphabetical order):
Ferrofish: B4000+
Kawai: K1 II
Korg: M1 (up'd to EX, w/ 'Cool Blue'), M1REX (w/ 'Cool Blue'), Poly-800
Roland: D-50, D-110, D-550, PG-1000
Yamaha: AW1600, DX7IID (w/ 'Cool Blue'), EX5R, RM50, RX5, SY99 (w/ 'Cool Blue'), TG500,
TX-802, YMM2
Sector101: SYEMB05 (5x), SYEMB06 (3x), EXFLM2 (1kit), MCD Sweet16 (1x), DataBlade32 (1x),
WaveBlade 8MB Card (1x) & 1x Programmer Unit for WaveBlade

Online
User avatar
parametric
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 4470
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:00 am
Location.: Near Watford, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by parametric »

Miks wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 9:43 pm
As far as I know it's not only a firmware update via Eprom - it's also the CPU that has to be replaced due containing a different code in an internal ROM area than the v.1.10 CPU. If I'm wrong someone may please correct me...
Unfortunately, I believe that is correct <Miks> . . . . .

I went this route with my SY85 some years ago. See these posts from that time . . . .

viewtopic.php?f=56&t=7965&p=50695&hilit ... ler#p50695

viewtopic.php?f=56&t=10355&p=61957&hili ... ler#p61957

The 1.10 FW has a midi-related bug - so if this AFFECTS what you do, then it is best to upgrade to 1.20, or higher (1.34?)

Dusty Miller from Yamaha Tech Support UK advised that the easiest way was to source a spares or repair SY85 with 1.20

resident. He confirmed that certain relevant chips are no longer available as spares from Yamaha . . . .

I also heard that there are issues when you come to load Voice/performance data via SysEx - in as much as the Sysex files you

want to LOAD - ought to come from the SAME version SY85 - as the TARGET machine . . . . . .

i.e. SOURCE and TARGET SY85s should be the same FW . . . . .

Maybe someone would like to confirm this is true?

Hope some of this might help . . . .

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - http://www.yamahaforums.co.uk/forum/vie ... =22&t=9217

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris

User avatar
Rara
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
Location.: Australia

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by Rara »

parametric wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:04 am

I also heard that there are issues when you come to load Voice/performance data via SysEx - in as much as the Sysex files you

want to LOAD - ought to come from the SAME version SY85 - as the TARGET machine . . . . . .

i.e. SOURCE and TARGET SY85s should be the same FW . . . . .

Maybe someone would like to confirm this is true?

Hope some of this might help . . . .

parametric
I wonder, if this might be why there are so few third party vendors for SY85 patches.

Rara 0-)

User avatar
shadowmask
sector101.co.uk
sector101.co.uk
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by shadowmask »

Unfortunately your SY85 will need the Sub1.30 code in the CPU to function properly with the OS1.20 in the EPROM.

I did try to read this code out of my SY85's OSV1.20 CPU but it wouldn't spit the code out, probably because it was the MaskROM version CPU (code is burnt in during manufacture) so the code verify function is disabled.
If I got my hands on a socketed CPU with SUB1.30 in it we could archive it and have a route to upgrading the OS to V1.20, but a new CPU would be needed as the original cannot be 'blanked' and re-programmed.

Here's the OS1.20 EPROM code if you want to give it a go:
https://sector101.co.uk/external/files/ ... 20_IC8.BIN

Brian

User avatar
docrv71
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:53 pm
Location.: France - Paris

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by docrv71 »

Thank you so much guys. That's great to see a so-active communauty. Thanks Brian for the binary and your very detailed explanation (about to order two SYEMB06, btw :D ).

I'm close to the summer break. As soon as I'm back and get my IC (from China, be patient), I'll tell you the outcome.

Anyway, even if we can get hands on a SUB1.30, would it be possible to find a 'new' CPU (H8/532 H8/325) ? I was trying to upgrade my D-50 as well and it was impossible to find that part.

Thank you very much !

Regards,

Hervé
Last edited by docrv71 on Sun Jun 28, 2020 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Yamaha SY85 - Roland D-50 - TX 81Z - Roland TR626

User avatar
shadowmask
sector101.co.uk
sector101.co.uk
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by shadowmask »

I got a couple of H8/532 from AliExpress a few years back. Can't remember the price, something like £12 each maybe.

When I cleaned the pins with alcohol there was black paint melting on the top of the chip. It appears that the original markings had been sanded off, coated in black paint, then re-marked.

Odd thing is they actually worked. Here's a photo of one of them with the paint removed working in my TG500:

Image

Brian

User avatar
docrv71
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:53 pm
Location.: France - Paris

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by docrv71 »

I can find some on eBay actually https://www.ebay.fr/itm/1x-RENESAS-HD64 ... 2927627731
So, the next step would be to find a Sub 1.30 machine ?
Yamaha SY85 - Roland D-50 - TX 81Z - Roland TR626

User avatar
shadowmask
sector101.co.uk
sector101.co.uk
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 1:00 am
Contact:

Re: SY85 Firmware

Unread post by shadowmask »

Either find a SUB1.30 machine, or borrow the CPU from someone to read the code out.

There was talk about the H8/532 CPUs a while back in the SY99 forum. may be of interest:
viewtopic.php?f=55&t=4185&start=90

Brian

Post Reply