How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

This section is for all variants of the Yamaha DX series. DX1/DX100/DX11/DX21/DX27/DX27S/DX5/ DX7/DX7IID/DX7IIFD/DX7S/DX9/TX81Z/TX7

Moderators: Derek, parametric, Saul

User avatar
ttcaven Finland
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2023 9:40 pm
Where Are You Located?: Finland

How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

Unread post by ttcaven »

Hello all,

I recently bought a TX802 that has custom patches and performances from the previous owner. I wish to make a backup of everything, and I believe I have done so by sending them all out to my computer as Sysex-files. However, it seems I have no way of verifying the integrity and completeness of the backup files, without trying to send them back to the TX802 and possibly fail at the process, losing the data stored within the synth.

Is there any way I could verify the data on my PC, or could anybody please help me out ? I could share/send/email the files if somebody would be willing to try them out on their TX802 ? Please ?

Best regards,
Toni C
User avatar
ttcaven Finland
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2023 9:40 pm
Where Are You Located?: Finland

Re: How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

Unread post by ttcaven »

Could anybody please help ? It would be a great shame to lose these sounds :cry:
User avatar
parametric Great Britain
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5798
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:00 am
14
Where Are You Located?: Near Watford, UK

VIP

Re: How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

Unread post by parametric »

Hi Toni,
I have contacted an acquaintance of mine who is a TX802 user of many years experience . .

Although he is Mac-based he may be able to suggest something . . .

Will let you know (He's not a member of these forums)

ATB

parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

Some of My own Tracks: viewtopic.php?p=88899#p88899

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - https://yamahamusicians.com/720k-floppy-disks-for-sale/

Curse! This means the end of the horned gramophone and the little doggie that looks in to it.

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar
parametric Great Britain
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5798
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:00 am
14
Where Are You Located?: Near Watford, UK

VIP

Re: How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

Unread post by parametric »

My aquaintance replied as follows:
- I used to backup two ways:
a - data cartridge ‘RAM4’ which inserts at the front
b - there used to be and I had it a software by MOTU called Unisyn to backup etc all sorts of synths data - but since system 10, that was discontinued

Otherwise, except reloading there would be no way of ascertaining if all has been backed-up - there also is the very cumbersome (and I have done on some ‘precious’ patches), is to manually make note of the parameters.
parametric
Alesis Fusion 8SSD AND 6SSD - BOTH are 384Mb/120Gb SSD/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash Ram/Yamaha SY85/8.5mb vol/1024k non-vol/DX21/Roland MT32/Bachmann double overstrung Baby Grand Piano/Win10 Pro/Ubuntu MATE 15.0.4/iBook G4/Mac OS 10.4.6/ProTools 7.4/MBox2/M-Audio MicroTrack 24/96

Some of My own Tracks: viewtopic.php?p=88899#p88899

NI Komplete11 Ultimate

Sector101 2x SYEMB06 / 4 x EXM-E3 128MB DRAM Module

BRAND NEW DSDD (720k) FLOPPY DISKS FOR SALE - https://yamahamusicians.com/720k-floppy-disks-for-sale/

Curse! This means the end of the horned gramophone and the little doggie that looks in to it.

Watch out now! take care, BEWARE of the greedy leaders! They'll take you where you should not go - (George Harrison)

IT'S TRUE - "MONEY TALKS" - TO ME, IT MOSTLY SAYS "GOODBYE" ;-)
http://www.chrisnmiller.co.uk/Chris
User avatar
Rara Scotland
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 1415
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:34 pm
12
Where Are You Located?: australia

VIP

Re: How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

Unread post by Rara »

One option I thoughts of is to find other unit, if possible even if temporary which has been factory reset,
and transfer the sysex saved on the PC to the borrowed unit. if the sysex works on there then the
sysex saved on PC is good.

Or maybe, FM-alive DXM, if imports sysex that will verify your file. if it supports the import
of. there is 30 day trial

And perhaps Dexed can import the sysex as well for testing.
User avatar
ttcaven Finland
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2023 9:40 pm
Where Are You Located?: Finland

Re: How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

Unread post by ttcaven »

OK the Unisyn by MOTU could be something I could possibly try to get my hands on, and run via a virtual machine of sorts (VMWare etc)
or try to find a RAM4 cart.

Thank you! :)

parametric wrote: Sat Jun 29, 2024 2:46 am My aquaintance replied as follows:
- I used to backup two ways:
a - data cartridge ‘RAM4’ which inserts at the front
b - there used to be and I had it a software by MOTU called Unisyn to backup etc all sorts of synths data - but since system 10, that was discontinued

Otherwise, except reloading there would be no way of ascertaining if all has been backed-up - there also is the very cumbersome (and I have done on some ‘precious’ patches), is to manually make note of the parameters.
parametric
User avatar
ttcaven Finland
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2023 9:40 pm
Where Are You Located?: Finland

Re: How to verify TX802 full backup * Please HELP

Unread post by ttcaven »

OK will be checking out the FM-alive DXM as soon as possible. I haven't found anybody else with a TX802 and I'm reluctant of buying another if and when one comes available...

Dexed couldn't make anything out of the sysex -files I have, that got me worried in the first place :(

Thank you :)

Rara wrote: Sat Jun 29, 2024 4:24 am One option I thoughts of is to find other unit, if possible even if temporary which has been factory reset,
and transfer the sysex saved on the PC to the borrowed unit. if the sysex works on there then the
sysex saved on PC is good.

Or maybe, FM-alive DXM, if imports sysex that will verify your file. if it supports the import
of. there is 30 day trial

And perhaps Dexed can import the sysex as well for testing.
Post Reply